Monarch Butterfly Kisses

My husband and I had errands to run in town, and we weren't in a rush, so I suggested we stop at Tom Tudek Park to visit the Snetsinger Butterfly Garden. He had never been to the park before, and it was a big surprise to him to find such a large park tucked in the middle of town.

For myself, I've never been there in the heat of the day before, and wow, what a butterfly show! There were monarchs everywhere. In fact, more monarchs than I think I have ever seen in one place at the same time. Plus a few painted ladies, and a fritillary of some kind.

I walked among them as a girl in a dream. No . . . more like a child, in wonder. Butterflies flittered around me, rising above my head like orange angels, and I was laughing out loud in delight. I was glad I had my camera: I was snapping away, taking pictures this way and that.

This was probably my favorite photo of the day. Two monarchs were sharing the same pink flower, and they sat there together for several minutes, giving me a chance to take quite a few pictures. It almost seemed like they might be kissing. :-)

The soundtrack is a favorite song by Dolly Parton: Love Is Like a Butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.