Mega Lunch

Today has been lazy. I’ve been tired after yesterday’s excitement, and didn’t sleep well either.

The thought of doing anything ambitious just didn’t appeal. That’s what holidays are for anyway. Doing nothing when I feel like it. No gardening to do. No laundry or ironing.

The highlight was going out for lunch to a place recommended in my guidebook and by my landlord. It’s away from the harbour and... away from the tourists. I was the only one. Maybe the name - Eziç Peanuts - puts them off too. (No idea what Eziç means.)

The setting was glorious. As the only touroid in the place I didn’t want to stand up and take a shot of the view from my table, but the Blip was taken from the car park so it’s close enough. The restaurant is the building on the left, behind the tree.

Much of the food here is Turkish - as in what folks eat in Turkey. They get a lot of tourists from Turkey, especially at the weekends. My lunch spot had one Cypriot specialty listed on the menu - șeftali kebabı.

recipe

I went for it.

As well as 6 bits of meat and 2 pieces of pitta, it was served with Anatolian bulgur pilav, chips, hummus, sliced onion with parsley and sumac, and a wee salad of peppers (the edible kind), tomatoes and parsley.       

Just as well I was hungry (and I’ll only need a packet of crisps for dinner).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.