Maǧusa

Another day of adventures. Another day of hard graft for the guide book.

I caught the 10am dolmuș to Gazimaǧusa (formerly Famagusta, and no doubt still Famagusta to Greek speakers). I got a sense of achievement just from that, as I’d managed to find where those dolmuș leave from at the first attempt (I had 3 choices) and figured out that the one with “Maǧusa” on the front was what I wanted. Nothing about that in the guide book...

It’s just over an hour away across the Kyrenia Mountains and at the other side of the Mesarya Plain. The plain is like semi-desert at this time of year.

I’m definitely glad I went. Its character is quite different to Girne and Lefkoșa. It also provided an almost unlimited supply of Blip material.  

I chose the shot of the Lala Mustafa Pașa Mosque. It was built between 1298 and about 1400 and was St Nicholas Cathedral until 1571, when the Ottomans captured the city. It’s named in honour of Lala Mustafa Pașa, the Grand Vizier of the Ottoman Empire (from Bosnia) who led the Ottoman forces against the Venetians in Cyprus.

I’ve put an interior shot as an Extra. The other is a local - when it’s 28⁰c at lunchtime, it had the right idea. Too hot for much sightseeing, even at a slow pace. 

The road is dual carriageway on the plain. On the way back our bus driver had a race with another from the same company - one in each lane and neck and neck for a few kilometres. It kept the passengers interested. Well, me I suppose. The locals hardly noticed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.