secret garden

By freespiral

Home at the end of the World ...

.... at least at the end of a very long track. There's a holy well I've been trying to find for ages and it sounds interesting - the best water for miles, good for sore eyes and very unusually in that the cure worked for both Catholics and Protestants! Normally a Protestant just has to look at a well and it moves or dries up or the Protestant drops dead! I inquired at a house from which there seemed to be track to the well. The farmer was intrigued and we peered at my GPs and attempted to get bearings. He thought there was no well. Then he suddenly remembered there might be and advised the other track. The other track was a long one and I was watched by a gang of curious cattle. I had Himself's walking pole clutched in one sweaty palm. The going was also exceptionally muddy. The GPS led me to a muddy pool, much churned up by the cattle and I feared that was it, no longer considered (see extra).  Of course, even feeling slightly apprehensive about the cattle, I couldn't resist a quick look at the old house a little further on round the track. Miles from anywhere, fitting snugly into its surroundings and now just used by the cattle - and a stoat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.