Conker Heaven

On my way home from doing the hens in the morning I stopped at the church for a little wander. There is a marvellous Horse Chestnut tree by one wall and I always like to look for conkers at this time of year. Most outside on the road get squashed or picked up as lots of cases but no chestnuts! But inside oh my! So many! Which then made me wonder why there are not hundreds of little saplings growing, so looked up their photo in google and realised there are - I had just not realised what they were! Obviously not in the churchyard itself, it's well tended! Interestingly or rather disturbingly, I later read an article about a piece of research which showed children could  identify Pokemon  but not wildlife. As the researcher stated -"It is not difficult to encourage a child's interest in wildlife. It is also important that we do – why should a child care about the extinction of a species if he or she has no idea what it is?" 
I think it goes wider in terms of recognising and caring about the damage we do to our environment. I'm guessing now the fact plastic particles are in our food chain and the water people will start to care a lot more - nothing like a bit of self-concern to get things changed!
Oh and here comes a more obvious rant - alarmist weather reporting! I wind proofed the coop in the evening as my local paper warned of severe weather. On checking weather sites it seemed as usual Scotland would bear the brunt of it, and since I live in Cornwall down the other end of the country....!!! So many times I read such warnings only to find they mean Scotland - I think the media needs a sharp reprimand like advertisers who make outlandish claims about  their product! I remember first my grandmother then my mother getting increasingly anxious about bad weather reports as they aged. I was debating about asking the sat night coop closer to leave the coop door half open and the run door closed so if it was bad I didn't need to go up in the morning to let them out! Just my luck to be covering for someone else that morning! I just feel they cry wolf and when it really is going to be bad weather people just won't take heed! 
Ok yes, I admit it,  I'm not exactly in a good frame of mind at the moment! Time to do some relaxing yoga!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.