CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Medlar fruit in the garden

It was dank today and there was a constant mist  giving the impression of rain. I went to pick some of the climbing French beans which are still growing and then saw the medlar fruits. Time to get my camera.

I hadn't watched them growing this year not having been gardening much in recent times.  But the tree has grown a lot following my pruning last year and has a lot of leaf on new branches.

The actual fruits were less abundant and I can now see that many of them have this strange one-sided disfiguration, so that they are not circular as usual. I looked around the tree and did find just a very few fruits which were unblemished in this way. I hope the tree hasn't got a disease.

As I stood close by with my camera I accidentally brushed one of the fruits to the ground so have brought it in the house and will watch it blet. In former years just before they soften the whole crop of medlars seems to disappear. I think it may be deer, which I occasionally see in the garden, who come to get a special autumn harvest treat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.