Philip Larkin in bronze at Paragon station, Hull

Anne M. and I were driven to Hull today by Camilla to represent the Preservation Trust at a two day conference. I'm still not feeling very good, but I was well enough to travel. Lets hope it stays that way.

On arrival we plonked our bags at the hotel which luckily is quite centrally located. Then we went for a stroll to look for a public exhibition being put on at the Paragon railway station before walking to the centre of the old docklands area of the city.

The station was rather beautiful retaining much of its old physique with a large canopied glass roof spanning the many platforms of the terminus. As we walked along the ends of the platforms I nearly bumped into this statue, which as soon as I stood back I recognised as being the well known image of Philip Larkin. He is described as one of Hull's most famous residents although not universally admired as I found out from one of my companions. 

The statue was commissioned and then unveiled in 2010 as part of the 25th anniversary of his death, as a lasting legacy honouring the poet’s connections with the city. Hull’s Paragon Station was a spot favoured by Larkin as it was the departure point for many of his trips on his bicycle to the local countryside, as well as for the famous journey captured in ‘The Whitsun Weddings’. On the plinth is engraved: "That Whitsun, I was late getting away," from that poem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.