'Don Won Tony Won'

It was the British Middle Distance Championships today in Wendover Woods, with lots of controls (19 on my course) coming thick and fast, meaning it was important to keep focused and not get distracted by all the other competitors.  I was very pleased to finish in 10th place.  After downloading I quickly picked up my camera from the car and went back to the run-in to catch Tony finishing whilst blipping orienteers.

Tony came bombing down to the finish and had to have a sit down as he had run so hard.  He had enough energy left to tell me to watch out for friend Don (who had beaten him yesterday) and was just two minutes behind in the start block.  Well today, Tony took the honours and my blip is of Don arriving at the finish to congratulate him and swap run stories.  That would have been sufficient for Tony to finish the weekend a happy man but a look at the results showed him to be in second place overall.  So it was to be a step on to the podium and a medal.  Woo hoo, well done Tony!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.