Unmullievable

So last night was a write-off in terms of sleep. Despite lining myself up perfectly in front of the van behind to break the force of the wind, we randomly rocked in a harsh jolting fashion for much of the night as the rain drummed the roof and the wind rasped under the van. 

I felt slightly cursey this morning. 
Little Dog was a bit bleary eyed. 

Whose idea was this to visit Mull on a less than perfect forecast?! 

Sunlight on the beach at dawn, however, and a blast of air through your ears and the pair of us were all set for another day, even if coffee was all we could focus on beyond the road!

I decided to head round to Loch Na Keal today and enjoyed a van potter stopping in all the passing places for people to get by. A Spar van had come off the road and was on its side. It had taken down a telegraph pole and wires with it and was about to be rescued. We kept on with our pottering pace and polite passing thinking about how these roads must be frustrating if you're in any kind of rush or with jobs to get to.

I was keeping an eye out for otters and did spot a couple photographing one playing in the water close to shore. I nearly stopped but decided I'd had my moment and I'd leave them to theirs. A few miles on and the perfect stop appeared. Rocky outcrops, seemingly sheltered (let's not get too excited until 1am!) and a beautiful view. Coffee time!

Sitting eating my lunch, I looked up with more than a little exclamation. Writing off the heron that I'd initially assumed...

SEA EAGLE! 

Camera to hand of course, it flew right by the van. 

I hadn't even hoped to see one of those as we weren't really venturing anywhere vaguely remote.  Bad night's sleep forgiven, and another night and day is looking acceptable again. 

This is our stop for the afternoon and night. We've had a little potter along the shoreline and been back to see a seal close by, diving gannets plummeting into the middle of the loch and, I dashed out to see another otter cruising by.

Spending time stretching and staring out to sea. My bones and muscles are feeling a little grumpy but my mind is far from it.

Addendum: It's always good to have an addition to make to your journal. TWO sea eagles on the beach 200m away. Out we both crept (Little Dog might not be the best otter spotter but she's a fabulous birder, laying down at all the right moments). Hiding behind rocks as we went. Sitting as they swirled above. Watching them fly up in the sky and swoop back down to the shore again. They seemed to be doing what the gulls do dropping shells from a height but it was hard to tell. I wouldn't have thought a sea eagle would bother with shells.

And all right between rain showers (you can just see the rain starting again on the photo). What incredible fortune! What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.