Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Temple of Venus, West Wycombe

James, my gamekeepter  ex-lodger and his girlfriend now live on West Wycombe Estate, where he was offered an enviable position. We've kept in close contact and  I see them regularly as they come back here for events and I often stop off on travels along the M40.

I won't forget this day in a hurry, even though this is back blipping four months ago.  

I have a very lovely friend who found some lesions on her tongue and was diagnosed with an aggressive form of oral cancer.  This was the day I took her into the cancer ward in Oxford for a mammoth operation.  Suffice to say they removed a large proportion of her tongue and reconstructed it with part of her arm.  The stitches around her neck and from the site on her arm ran into the hundreds.  She was positive going into the hospital and continues to be positive to this day despite days that would have sunk the most part of the people I know.  She's never wanted sympathy and is a tower of strength  Love the lady to bits! 

I left Jen at the door and stopped off to give the dogs a good walk before heading home.  The wild garlic growing on the banks of The Temple of Venus was stunning. West Wycombe is full of Follies at were built in the 1740's by Sir Francis Dashwood.  I'll blip more of them as time goes by.  Plenty of food for the lens on the Estate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.