Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Warming the Vines

I live next door to the Albury Vineyard and the sight of the glow and smoke filled air rising from the hillside as I travelled home at 5am made me panic.  I turned into the drive and the spectacle was both beautiful and frightening at the same time. 
I only had my phone with me. Although It would have taken only a few of minutes to get to my door and lift the camera I knew that I'd have lost the scene as dawn was breaking. 
An atrocious late, air freezing frost, prompted the owners to light 500 bougles in an attempt to save this year's fruit.  Although some of the crop was saved, they feared an 80% loss overnight,

The horrors are well documented in the vineyard blog

I sent these pics on later in the morning and before lunchtime they had hit most of the local and some national papers.  

As I blip this scene they vineyard is planning this years harvest.

Filling in a gap year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.