Telopea speciossima #2

Even though I had lots of bird shots in my camera by the time night fell, I couldn't help but blip this majestic Waratah Bud that is about to burst into full bloom over the next three to four weeks. This is the top of the pops out of the six blooms on the plant in front of our living area and I have a feeling it's going to be amazing.

I took this image on the settings that I had decided I would use to try and take the bird shots in the late afternoon light. The shutter speed was 1250 f/5.6 and ISO 2000 and I had my 300mm lens on board. I really loved the depth of field that was created in this shot and I've decided I must experiment more, particularly in the dull light. I just know I have soooooo much to learn about the photography business :-). Oh, and I have to add, this image is straight out of the camera. No cropping, or fiddling with so that made me happy.

I have added an extra of a wonderful little red browed finch in full flight in the bird bath. This has to be one of the most athletic little birds I have ever seen having a bath at Wombat Hollow. It certainly put a smile on our dials as we sipped a glass of bubbles late this afternoon. I hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed the moment. I'm going to tag it for Tiny Tuesday wrperry because this is one of the tiniest birds that comes to visit us :-)
PS - You can probably appreciate now why we have to fill the bird bowls twice a day. Look at the water that one little bird is displacing!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.