Holding down autumn

I met a butterfly today.
She said, "Don't go away!
I'm holding down the autumn leaves,
Come on roll up your sleeves!"

I dare not pronounce it pointless,
I couldn't cause distress.
Roll up my sleeves I did, it's true,
Battling the wind that blew.

I met a butterfly today
(Not the type to pray)
Mucked right in, with bold endeavour,
"Please, never say never."

I dare not disagree with that
Helping out in combat.
But when the sun came out, she flew,
Bolting right out the blue!


I took Rich on an MMT last night to the Ilkley Literature Festival.  We went to see Michael Rosen talk about his book of his growing up years.  I've always been inspired by his written word, and thoughts on education but had no idea about his childhood.  Someone in the audience was even married to the doctor he trained with, sharing the chopping up of bodies in class before he swapped to literature.  He was fascinating, funny and  incredibly engaging.

So I tried out a poem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.