Focus Stack

I had some time on my hands today as I waited in for some deliveries…so I set about using a new app I have that can control my Canon 6D remotely.

Canon do make a remote control app but they recently updated it and removed the ability to make manual focus adjustments (a step backwards I think).

So I have bough this new one (DSLR Controller) to use. It only runs on Android devices - and our son just happened to have an old (compatible) one lying around at home, which I have now acquired.

The app has the ability to automatically run a sequence of shots making minute adjustments to the focus - so that the shots can be merged (or stacked) into one shot.

This is my first attempt - 18 shots of the little Duplo figure and processed in Photoshop.

The final image here has a few patches out of focus (on the tops of bot feet and the shoulder to the right of the head) I know I have them in focus in some the shots, but the capture app has worked a treat. I have run the same set of shots through a trial version of Zerene stacker software and the results are much better See extra) - sadly at almost £100 I cannot justify the expense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.