West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Pitlochry, day 1

I'm in Pitlochry to celebrate my Dad's birthday. It's a big birthday with a '0' but I won't say which one! My parents and my Aunt and Uncle arrived on Thursday, my sister, her partner and I got the train up from London yesterday. 

Today we went to the Crannog Centre on Loch Tay. I'd never heard of Crannogs before. In the Iron Age people used to live in houses built on wooden stilts in the Loch. There's a replica that you can visit. They also have examples of tools and machinery from the time that you can try. We tried out a wooden lathe and making fire. My Dad and sister were better than me at the fire-making. They at least got smoke!

After lunch in a pub we went for a walk. My dad had suggested the Birks of Aberfeldy where you can walk along a canyon. What he'd forgotten was that it involved climbing up a steep hill to the top of the canyon! It was a good walk. The extra is of a waterfall we passed.

In the evening we went out for a delicious dinner to celebrate the birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.