Poached pairs

A man watches his pear-tree day after day, impatient for the ripening of the fruit. Let him attempt to force the process, and he may spoil both fruit and tree. But let him patiently wait, and the ripe pear at length falls into his lap.

Terrible night's sleep on the sofa. Matt is on a mattress on the floor. Steve and Lucy both have rooms. Edinburgh is noisy; the wind rattles the windows; the curry grumbles digestively.

Another day in TechCube. Customer complaints; hard truths; recondite accountants.

Pleasantly punctuated by salad in "The Prosecco Room" at Victor Hugo's. Aslak sports a pink striped flouncy hat, posed camply in front of shelves decked with shiny bottles. And then it's back to the reclaimed labs of the erstwhile veterinary establishment.

I check into Salisbury Green and wander down to Surgeon's Hall for the Lean Agile Scotland dinner. It's a posh venue and a fun night. The food is good and the helpings are refreshingly small. There are Lego figures to play with.

I am flanked at the table by US emigrés - Mike and Darcy. We talk Las Vegas Shooting and Uncle Bob. I bet Mike $50 that the US would not make semi-automatic weapons illegal. In my head, I've already spent the winnings.

Matt and I return to the flat. The Dev team is still devving. It's after 11. Matt joins in, while I observe, sipping on my Imperial IPA. There is Duran Duran and Bauhaus - retro pop.

Julien and Romain deliver our first test result visualisation. It's not a pie chart - although, apparently, that's what customers want. Hardly Tufte.

I slope away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.