Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 9

Tools of the trade! Every boater on the canal system needs a windlass for raising the paddles to fill or empty a lock. Mine's a specially made long-reach version to help give me more torque. After a friend did the welding and The Man sprayed it purple for me. Would you believe there is only one shade of purple as a car colour? I'm sure that makes my windlass unique!

The other neccessary items for my delicate hands are a pair og strong leather riggers' gloves with a cosy pair of pastel-coloured fleece gloves inside them. They not only keep my hand warm, but protect them from getting bashed.

I saw them lying in the sunshine on the table on the fore-deck, unused today but couldn't resits the blip.

Somehow this didn't go up at the time, I must have moved out of internet reception.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.