Perspective

So, the one that calls me Papa is now a big sister. She has to get used to not being the only one who gets attention - difficult after 21 months of undivided focus! The little brother, who is still way too young to call me anything, just looks at me, with a hint of a smile. The one who calls me papa knows how to look at me to melt my heart! She someone knows, intuits, that love expands to embrace both her and her little brother. It recalls for me a story about two siblings, both girls, each vying for their dad's love. Out on a trip, one, a more speedy runner, made it to her dad first and grabbing his leg said proudly "I have all of daddy!" The dad picked up her little sister and as she was lifted aloft in a daddy cuddle, the sister declared , "Yes, but daddy's got all of me!" Perspective!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.