Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Windy!

I was expecting glaziers this morning, so could not pop into town for a lunch meeting with a pal, but JR went.

The glazier arrangement was done by email a couple of weeks ago, but it was pretty casual, really. He assured me he'd be here on 'Tuesday or Wednesday'. Well, Tuesday came and went, so I emailed and said that I was now expecting him on Wednesday, hopefully. I didn’t get a reply.

And so this morning I rang. The chap who answered had no idea of my needs, but said he'd come round later, which he did. Turns out that 'the boss' had gone away on holiday and hadn’t told his employees about it. Hmm - doesn’t exactly engender confidence, but they measured up and promised to come next week. The smears of paint that are ingrained in the sand blasted glass since I painted them (rather sloppily) can be ignored no longer.

Archie and I went up the hill. Gosh it was windy!

PS I didn’t win £167 million...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.