Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

That was easy!

This morning as Hubs and I were sitting down in the kitchen to have breakfast, I glanced out and spotted a hummer sitting on the feeder pole.  Quick as a flash blipper, I grabbed a camera and flew out the door, leaving hubs to guard breakfast.  I crept across the deck and managed a half dozen mediocre shots before leaving the little gal to eat in peace.

This is the latest I've recorded a hummer in the yard, although I always leave a feeder with fresh nectar up into November.  The nectar level dipped quite a bit during the few days we were gone, so I suspect others have flown through.  This little one didn't stay long, just a quick refueling stop on the long trip south.

In other migrant news, I released 4 monarchs today - 3 girls and one handsome lad.  Each went in someone's memory.  I have nine chrysalids left; of those, two are promised and 7 are available for dedication.  Let me know if there's someone you want me to remember...

While I was pottering in the garden late in the morning, I was surrounded by butterflies, both painted ladies and monarchs.  It was so magical that I  put my camera down and just enjoyed the moment. Warm temperatures, a nice breeze and butterflies swirling around my head...bliss.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.