Forgevalley

By Forgevalley

Another Shelf

Here you are anothe insight in to me via the literature I keep!
But more, and yet another Dad story. Dad was an avid pipesmoker till he found out it was going to kill him. In the picture you catch a glimpse of a pipe he had always had from my earliest memory, though I only ever recall it being in use once to demonstrate its effect. It was old and fragile.
The unique things about this pipe was that it a beautifully carved image of a Negroe or Arab head. The head was spooky as it had ceramic eyes that seemed to gaze at you, further the turban formed a hinged lid that when closed covered the burning tobacco and diverted the smoke out through the nostrils of the swarthy head. What a splendid sight it was ! Oh to know the history of that head. So there it is sat on my bookshelf never to be used, but as a fun reminder of my old Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.