The parlour...

...in 1790, described as

 "the room where the family would have gathered, received guests and taken meals. In diaries, journals and letters of the time people often referred to rooms and furnishings that they liked as "neat, which means bright and stylish as well as clean and tidy. This taste required lighter colours and more delicate decoration. Wallpapered walls were particularly useful for achieving this effect, replacing heavily moulded panelling."


I visited the Geffrye Museum with my sister and a mutual friend today. I have been several times but usually during its Christmas season when all the rooms are decorated accordingly. Without the "distraction" of the decorations, I took in a lot more of the detail of each room and learnt some new interior design skills! 

May I ask you to kindly visit the breast cancer awareness site and click to provide free mammograms to those who need it.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.