Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday, stacked deep

Thanks, as always, to Anni for hosting Flower Friday.  As usual, I couldn't leave well enough alone and just post a flower - nope, had to include some wildlife.  And since it was early and still a bit chilly,  I was able to get six images at different focal points and stack them in Helicon.  Not my best focus-stack ever, but enough that both the insect and spider are in focus all the way through.  Always hard to get much DOF with macro lenses, so stacking is a nifty tool.  

The insect is a Jagged Ambush Bug  and the wee spider is a Northern Crab Spider.  Both are predators that love to lurk on flowers waiting for a meal to come along.  What I'm not sure of is whether the Ambush bug would try to take the spider.  If I'd had more time to sit in the garden, I might have waited to see what happened next.  Alas, things to do.  

In Monarch news, I released #143 today, a beautiful female who flew in honor of a fellow blipper's mum.  Five more chrysalids... by the end of the weekend, I suspect the nursery will be closed for the year.  Bittersweet.

Two of my besties, Kura and Peg, are arriving this afternoon; Ellen is coming out tomorrow.  Much wine will be consumed, much laugher will ensue, more wonderful memories will be made.  Good thing that Hubs' Man-cold seems to be getting a wee bit better.  

Two other photos starting HERE on Flickr - a focus-stacked bee, and a tiny crab spider on a sunflower.  Both contenders for FF, but I had to go with the two-fer shot.

Happy weekend, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.