A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

At 3am the friend of a friend was killed by the state of Florida, a threat finally carried out after an inhumane delay of 34 years.  I have no opinion on the case but the sentence and the process are beyond barbaric.  I'll leave the words to Mike:

"What if someone approached you today and told you that you only had two days to live - and that you had to spend your remaining days in solitary, away from all those that mattered to you. Alone, you slowly count down each moment of every day, each tick of that clock, drawing you closer to a date with death.

That is where I am today. As I write this, it is Friday, September 15, 2017, and I am in Cell One, formally known as Q-2101, only feet away from Florida's execution chamber. And in the early evening of October 5, 2017, at precisely 6:00 p.m., the State of Florida intends to put me to death for a crime I did not commit.


After 34-years on Florida's Death Row, I've become familiar with how this process unfolds. I’ve seen many others where I am today. I've survived three previous attempts by the state to take my life, but I know that this time is different. This time, the odds of surviving this date with death are significantly stacked against me. I don't expect to make it out alive. The Governor is running an election for a tightly contested U.S. Senate seat, and he needs to rally the votes by executing as many as he can. To him, all my life is really worth is the hope of winning a few more votes. He has already sent more people to their death then any other Governor in Florida’s history and, after he kills me, he will move on to his next victim."

deathrowjournals.blogspot.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.