moving images

By movingimages

Collin's Diner

I spend an inordinate amount of time in my car and end up taking a lot of " blind" photos. Sort of "point and shoot" and hope I have framed and captured what ever it was that caught my attention all while keeping my eyes (and car) on the road.

I have regularly ridden or driven past this diner since I was small (a rough calculation puts the number over 1000 times) and only in the last couple of weeks did I actually notice the spelling on the sign. Without ever paying it much attention I never noticed the apostrophe. A spelling not unheard of or even unlikely as Collins is a common surname in this area. Was it a signmakers error that stood the test of time or was there a Collin family? My curiosity getting the better of me I did a bit of research and uncovered that in fact this deco gem of a roadside eatery was opened by an unnamed member of the Collin family in 1941 and has been serving up breakfast and lunch ever since.

Awkwardly stuck at the edge of the of the now defunct Canaan Train Station parking lot but, photogenic as ever, in the fading winter afternoon light: The Collin's Diner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.