The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

300

Not a blipversary, there's a long way to go to the next one of those. This milestone has more significance to me at this stage in my life. This evening's walk up Arnside Knott with Gus was this year's 300th ascent of the hill from our house. Today was the 105th consecutive day that I have walked up the hill in the morning since we came back from Raasay in late June. 300 ascents of about 300 feet makes the equivalent of three Everests from sea level, though with more oxygen.

There were days a couple of months ago when it didn't feel like there was much oxygen, but then I was depleted of red blood cells. I wasn't sure if I would be able to make the walk when I was having chemotherapy, and there were certainly days when I didn't feel like making the effort, and perhaps it wasn't wholly advisable. And maybe if it wasn't for Gus and his enthusiasm in the morning, I might have given into the temptation to roll over in bed and go back to sleep. There again, completing the walk has been a critical part of my routine to stay as well as I could in the extended watch and wait period before treatment began, and then during and after treatment as part of rehabilitation.

The walks now provide a barometer of my recovering health. We are well on course for the year's target of an average of one a day.

I couldn't finish without a word about Gus. He's been my almost constant companion since we came back from Raasay. The only time we have been parted was when I went to hospital consultations and treatments. Otherwise, his gentle presence has been with me every step of the way, every second of every day. He's the best friend a man could ever hope for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.