The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sessile oak

I was telling C about a huge oak next to the River Bela on the other side of the bridge from the Dallam Deer Park. Then I began to doubt myself, was it an oak, or was it a sycamore? Hence Gus and I set off at lunch time to check it out and take a photo as a record. Indeed it is a sessile oak, while behind it (obscured by the enormous trunk), there are two large sycamores. I shall have to go back again with a tape to measure the girth of the oak, it is surely one of the biggest in the Arnside & Silverdale AONB. I do know of at least one that is bigger, but I'm curious now to start an inventory of the veteran and larger trees in the area.

The other reason for walking along the old railway embankment and then down to Summerhouse Point was to continue my beach cleaning activity. We had walked this way a few days ago and there were quite a few plastic bottles on the strand line where river and estuary meet. I came prepared with bin bags and gloves, and found the bottles had all disappeared. It looks like someone else has been cleaning up, I don't think they would all have been carried away on a high tide. I'm encouraged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.