WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Red balloon day

... with pomegranates standing in. I guess only older/pre-Polaroid blippers remember the red balloons we used to celebrate blip anniversaries with. This is my official five-year anniversary, as opposed to the chronological one, which was back in January; I've missed quite a few days since then.

I've run out of things to say about Blipfoto, but I can state that it's changed my life. I've taken many thousands of photos since January 2012, after not taking any for many years, bought several cameras, been on photography courses, and above all met and become friends with several blippers. Continuing to take photos daily gets to be a bit of an effort, and it's hard to keep up with all the blippers I follow, but it's all worthwhile when you make connections in real life. Special shout-out to Oxford blipfriends Chamaeleo, Bundle, and Arachne. And thanks to everyone who continues to visit and comment despite my poor record at keeping up!

Also a special mention for guiri, whom we appropriately bumped into today while on an artwalk in Frigiliana; there were about 25 artists exhibiting in houses and galleries around the village. The art was a bit hit and miss, ranging from serious artists to dabblers. Frigiliana is a very pretty white village, too pretty really; it's a bit too chichi for us. My view of it is also coloured by a book by a British journalist I read some years ago, about the dreadful experiences of a group of resistance fighters based here during Franco's dictatorship.  My review here. It's all so prettified now that it's hard to imagine the poverty and suffering that went on.

And today's very small selection of extra photos are right from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.