But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Flamborough Head Lighthouse.

It was a long drive to Bridlington, stopping only for an evening meal in a pub at Stamford Bridge on the way. I had a Portobello mushroom, cranberry and Brie Wellington; while I could discern the flavour of mushroom in it, there was no sign of either the fruit or the cheese and I have no idea which ingredient made it so chewy. It appears to be a local delicacy as it was served in the hotel the following day; I opted for an alternative dish.
 
Having unpacked, and installed Mrs TD’s sewing machine in the workroom, I set off towards Flamborough Head, I had this naïve idea of stopping in some quiet spot to try some star photography – I’d forgotten just how bright a lighthouse can be and arrived there without having found a suitable location. I set to Blipping the lighthouse instead, it was an interesting challenge; the dynamic range was huge and I gave up on it. Later on, I retrieved it from the Recycle Bin and found a way of producing a result that gave me a little satisfaction.
 
I moved on a few hundred yards to the old lighthouse for the extra, it was built in 1672 but has never been lit and it also presented a challenge. It is solely illuminated by the new working model, that is: for a quarter of a second in every five. The upshot was that I couldn’t see to focus so had to bracket the focusing. It took a dozen shots to arrive at something acceptable. Strangely, finding the right exposure caused no problem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.