But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Burton Agnes Station.

I had assumed that this used to be a station from the remnant platform on one side of the tracks and a short Wikipedia article confirms this, even having a photograph taken from an almost identical position. I took this standing at the adjacent level crossing hoping that a train didn't come along and surprise me; if it had, I'd have received a crack on the nut from the descending gate. I had crossed four level crossings in the previous few miles as the road meandered back and forth. At one of them the main gates were locked but there were side gates so that pedestrians and cyclists could be run over if they wished. I did hear several trains passing while I was within ear-shot, but I gave up waiting for one to appear here to complete the Blip.
 
The intention had been to cover a reasonable distance on the trike today, but a couple of hour’s uphill into the stiff headwind made for a tiring morning; discretion prevailed and I took a short cut to the planned coffee stop at Driffield. From the moment that the decision was made, the sun shone, the wind and gradient were in my favour for the rest of the day and I had time to loiter and take photographs. The results weren’t spectacular, but the scenery was very pleasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.