Moonlight on the Water

It was nearly three years ago that I got, and took, the offer of early retirement. It's probably a good thing that I was one of quite a number of us who left at that time, rather than sloping off to retirement in a solitary manner. It means that I have a large number of ex-colleagues who I have a lot in common with; we can meet up and blether and actually give a support to one another just being there.
We were always worried about Ian. He didn't have much beyond work it seemed. And he never looked the healthiest of individuals, being a chain smoker.
So it was no surprise I guess that Jim S got the police round to break into his flat this weekend as he hadn't been seen about. Our regular get together is this Thursday, but we won't be seeing him this Thursday or any other Thursday for that matter. It's a thin thread that life does hang upon, is it not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.