Giant Cat Stalks Lilliputians!

On Mondays I've sometimes done a "memory blip", a way to record something forever in this journal to remind me of days I don't have photos of. You know, those days before a camera was surgically attached to your body!

I've recently been having a sort-out at work and I was dusting down these "unique" ornaments that have been decorating my offices for nearly 20 years. The blip was to be entitled - Memories #4: Lilliput Lane.

We had a firm, Lilliput Lane, in Penrith manufacturing miniature cottages. 20 years ago they had the idea of holding annual Collectors' Fairs in the grounds of stately homes. The first was Greystoke Castle and the second was Shugborough Hall when they invited other Cumbrian manufacturers to join them in a craft marquee.

Those were great days, the collectors came with money that had to be spent! I even sold to a TV presenter! Anyhow, as well as them selling masses of miniature cottages, they also let people pay to paint their own! They even let people pay to let their children paint their own. It kept the kids occupied and quiet. Such a good idea.

So, I'm recording in my journal special editions of Lilliput Lane Cottages created for children to paint on 4th & 5th September, 1993. The photo shoot would have gone well but, as soon as Ali sees me putting the black cloth on the table, she wants to be part of the action!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.