GracieG

By GracieG

I was going to do some gardening…

…but we have a nesting woodpigeon with a chick in our Mahonia tree which overhangs the lawn which I was about to cut.  From our bedroom window, with binoculars, we can see into the nest.  One of the parents is sitting over the chick keeping it warm, the nest is lined with soft feathers and we can see the chicks head, eye and beak.  It is growing feathers so not just newly hatched.  I can’t get a photo as it’s quite dark under the evergreen leaves and I don’t want to cause stress to the parent or chick.
 
So, instead I’ve taken a photo of our potted hydrangea bush which is showing some pretty Autumn colours.  With any luck the chick will fledge soon and then I just need a dry day to cut the grass.  The birds always come first, possibly to the detriment of the appearance of the garden at times, but we get so much pleasure from feeding them.  We have three sunflower seed holders with two perches on each and whilst I was ironing this morning, I observed that they were pretty much occupied with our usual gang of goldfinches for most of the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.