Colonial 2017

I want what happened in the movie last week to happen this week; otherwise, what's life all about anyway?

We head to Heathrow, Terminal 5. Claire's flight home is slightly delayed. Mine, to Philadelphia, is not. We eat breakfast and read the Sunday papers in the lounge.

On the flight, I enjoy my Asian vegetarian curry while watching Table 19. It's bearable (the film), but no more. I follow this with coffee and The Wizard of Lies, another exposé of financial malpractice, this time De Niro as Bernie Madoff. It's shocking.

I'm through immigration and in my hire car in no time. The heavy traffic on the roads is unexpected, but I'm in Phoenixville within the hour anyway. I unpack, iron a couple of shirts, and head downtown for a salad.

The movie theatre, which I've never visited, is looking more run down each time I pass it. Some of the letters need new bulbs, which seems strangely fitting for the Blade Runner 2049 showing.

In contrast, this town gets more and more upmarket bohemian - there are now five micro breweries, a gin distillery, and a vegan takeaway to complement the dozen or so eateries that have been here for ever. Spoilt for choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.