"Hard Boiled"

I was curious as to what the actual definition of a "still life" was to those in the know - so I Googled it and came up with this from the Tate:

"Still life includes all kinds of man-made or natural objects, cut flowers, fruit, vegetables, fish, game, wine and so on. Still life can be a celebration of material pleasures such as food and wine, or often a warning of the ephemerality of these pleasures and of the brevity of human life."

Not having a skull to hand, but for a strange reason being in reach of this set of demonstration teeth, I've opted for these to represent the "pleasures and brevity of human life" - heck you work with what's to hand ! 

I also happened to have a hard boiled egg - so I leave you with the immortal words of Terry Pratchett from what is genuinely my favourite book of his:

“You'd like Freedom, Truth, and Justice, wouldn't you, Comrade Sergeant?' said Reg encouragingly.
'I'd like a hard-boiled egg,' said Vimes, shaking the match out.
There was some nervous laughter, but Reg looked offended.
'In the circumstances, Sergeant, I think we should set our sights a little higher--'
'Well, yes, we could,' said Vimes, coming down the steps. He glanced at the sheets of papers in front of Reg. The man cared. He really did. And he was serious. He really was. 'But...well, Reg, tomorrow the sun will come up again, and I'm pretty sure that whatever happens we won't have found Freedom, and there won't be a whole lot of Justice, and I'm damn sure we won't have found Truth. But it's just possible that I might get a hard-boiled egg.”

― Terry PratchettNight Watch  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.