My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

Mono Monday – STILL LIFE

Very grateful to JDO for suggesting inspiration for today’s challenge might come from Don McCullin (it’s his birthday). I’ve long been an admirer of his work and knew he’d moved on to landscapes after leaving his painful documentary work behind but hadn’t picked up on his still life. There is a short video of him talking about still life on YouTube. However for me it’s not so much his subject matter that is important but the way he uses light and dark in the resultant image he makes. I’ve had great fun capturing various setups and even more fun trying to emulate an image that might be seen to have been inspired by Don’s work. I’ve ended up with a shot of three pears as my contribution to today’s challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.