China Town

After breakfast we caught the MRT (underground) to the harbour front and then walked along the boardwalk to Sentosa Island.  I was booked in to do my ‘Dolphin Trek’ at 2.30pm, so we spent the morning wandering around.  It’s certainly changed since we were last there 11 years ago, and is now a huge resort with big hotels and even Universal Studios.

I’d seen there was a light festival starting tomorrow night, and spotted an open gate within a fenced off area, so I snook in, and found this area of Chinese Lanterns which I guess will all be illuminated at night.  I thought they were really pretty and also liked the shadows they were casting on the ground.

We went to Adventure Cove to check in for my dolphin trek, and I had to fill in a medical questionnaire.  One of the questions was whether I was taking any prescription drugs, so I ticked it and wrote that I was taking Tamoxifen which is the daily medication I take because of the breast cancer.  Well, I shouldn’t have given them this information as they said I couldn’t do the activity unless I had a letter from my doctor confirming I was medically fit!  Obviously, I didn’t have a letter, so they said I could go to their medical centre and if they were happy I could do it.  So off we went, only to find that they were closed for lunch, but were due to open in 5 minutes, so we waited.  

I explained the situation but to see their doctor would have been $95 so I said I wasn’t prepared to pay that.  We went back to the reception and I said that I could get a letter from my GP in the UK, but not for a couple of hours due to the time difference.  After a discussion on the phone, they finally said that if I got a letter I could go back tomorrow.

I hastily sent an email to work asking if Steve my boss and the GP could write a letter, sign it and scan it to me.  He was happy to do so, and by the time we got back to the hotel, I’d received the letter and the hotel printed it off for me.  So fingers crossed for tomorrow!

Today’s extras are from Palawan Beach on Sentosa.  It just as I remembered it, and as I’m going back there tomorrow I’ll spend some time at the beach.  I had a paddle and the water was really warm, so I think I’ll have a swim tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.