Tiny Tuesday - Pink

Today's Tiny Tuesday challenge is 'Pink' for Breast Cancer Awareness Month - thanks to wrperry for hosting. I bought this paperweight last week and saved it to photograph for Tiny Tuesday. It's the work of Peruvian sculptor Oswaldo Merchor who's lived on the Norfolk coast for the last 45 years and who is self taught. The original carving was in a gourd and then a mould was made to produce the paperweight in marble stone powder and resin (so the actual colour is stone not pink, that was me changing it for the challenge!). I just love the tiny owl faces in it and they are so tiny - each is half the size of the nail on my little finger - so imagine how difficult it was to do the design around the faces. He produces wonderful bronzes too which I'd love but are a 'considered purchase'! Such a talented artist. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.