Cultured Cabbage

About a year ago amandoAlentejo introduced us to kefir while we were visiting. We took the grains home and have enjoyed making and eating kefir, and spreading the fermenting culture to other friends and family.
I've been thinking about sauerkraut for a while, another fermented product that tastes good. Sometimes I buy the commercial product which tastes OK but has very few of the healthy pro-biotics, compared with home fermented food.
So, today I went into the production of sauerkraut.  Those of you who have made sauerkraut yourselves will know it is very simple but I still feel rather proud to have got this going. I shall watch, wait and taste over the next couple of weeks and if it works, and we like it, then the cellar could get a new collection of jars to go with the jams, chutneys, and pickles already stored there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.