The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Farewell Funchal

I can never really get my head around travelling too and from Madeira. When we used to fly from Cardiff it was quicker to get to Funchal than it was to get to Dawn's parents in Lincolnshire! I am now sat back in Llantwit Fardre and thinking less than twelve hours ago (less than a working day back in my Clariant days) I was sitting looking at a pool and people sun bathing! I am shivering waiting for the central heating to play catch up to the thermostat!

I hate airports. You are just like cattle ... herding, stamped, numbered and processed. Funchal airport is madness. It cannot cope with Mondays! The vast majority of turn around on the island is a Monday, as it is mainly time-share in the hotels that run Monday to Monday. We were there a good two hours before boarding, and we barely had time to spit before we were getting on our plane. It is so stressful! We managed to get on the observation roof for a five minutes of fresh air.

It was only a three and a half hour flight home, a full half an hour shorter than flying there. We stopped in my brothers on the way home (to show our tans off) an then we finally got home ... and that was that! Madeira 2012 is over ... so long and thanks for all the memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.