Hume

First, a disclaimer. I'm not the kind of adult who collects teddy bears. Now that's out the road I can tell you about today's Blip.

Hume is a Burra Bear, made from a cardigan I bought from the Hume Sweet Hume shop in Pierowall in 2008 (extra).  It was still in cracking condition but had become a wee bit baggy. So when I read that Wendy, the maker of Burra Bears, was making Hume Sweet Hume bears from discontinued fabrics I asked her to make me one.  He arrived today. I've bought a goodly number of Burra Bears for family babies in the past 12 years so here's one I'm planning to keep. I've also been lucky enough to visit Wendy's workshop a couple of times to see the lovely Fair Isle fabrics she usually uses to make the bears,

We had been going to have a Westray holiday earlier this year but one way and another it had to be cancelled. Maybe next year. I'd like to buy another Hume Sweet Hume garment from the shop.  If you can ever get to Westray do go. It's absolutely beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.