Another Languedoc year...

By SweetApricots

The swimming hermaphrodite

I love this thingy. Is it a sculpture? No. Is there a bit missing? Yes. It's actually a coconut de-flesher but the semi-lunar scraper is missing from the top of his head. I've blipped it before, but it's worth another shot I hope. We bought it in a general antiquey collectors rubbishy wonderful multiple sellers emporium a few years ago.

The (probably Indonesian) coconut vendor would have grasped it between his/her knees and scraped the coconut in a circular motion to remove the nutty bit. When between the seller's knees the buyer may have noticed that the swimmer has both breasts and male genitalia.

Odd but beautiful. I can't resist giving his/her bottom a pat when I pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.