misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Golden Rod with Cold Bees

A rather dismal day with little sun just showers off and on. Late in the day I went out with the idea of cutting down the comfrey leaves to put into the compost. They do something special to breakdown compost.
Alas, I lost my enthusiasm when it started to drizzle then rain again.
But nearby a blooming stand of golden rod in front of the dogwood shrubs caught my eye.
I saw four or five smart bumble bees hanging under the flowers, sleeping. I think they have settled there for the night to be ready as soon as the sun warms them up tomorrow. They each placed themselves under the flowers to keep the rain off like sitting under umbrellas.
The blip shows their little dark bodies curled so their fur takes most of the rain.
I have never noticed this adaptation. I often see bees go to sleep right in the center of a flower on a chilly night, but this clever protective action is a new one for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.