misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Baby Red Sqiurrel

This was an unexpected and briefly exciting gift blip.
I was in bed just settling down looking at the Popular Blips for today before turning off the light. Then I heard a shrieking. Got up and looked down the hall to see Gracie T-t with something in her mouth that was twirling around.
She let it go in the bathroom. When I got there I saw a little squirrel on the shower mat and GTt just watching. She is not a real killer of wildlife but enjoys playing.
It was not hurt or bleeding, just scared. I guess she caught it out in the closed garage and brought it inside through the cat flap. I had left the garage door open for much of today and it could have run in. Really need to stop that since animals are looking to come inside now. I have smelled skunks several times around the house this past week.
The little guy jumped into the shower. He ran to the far back corner.  I grabbed the huntress and took her outside & shut the door. I have no idea where our other cat, Persey, is.
Then I got the camera right away, of course. Took a couple with the flash. Got a cardboard box and put it on the shower floor. The squirrel ran right into it. I could not think of a safe place to keep him inside overnight, so I put the box on its side just outside the house.by the garage door.  He kept screaming off and on in panic when the box moved. That would attract hunters to him. I hope he quiets down in the dark. I closed the garage door. GTt is in for the night combing the rooms for her toy.
It is such a small baby but I expect he has a better chance outdoors. We have so few red squirrels around here. I am not sure that he really is a baby ... or a 'he'. They are taking over in some places I have been told.
I hope the best for him. It is a mild, pleasant night and probably will not rain.
And now I am WIDE awake! Grrr...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.