Liz Brooke-Ward in the Great Oak Hall, Westonbirt

Helena and I drove over to the famous arboretum at Westonbirt this morning to both see the autumnal colours in the woodlands and to meet Liz. Her exhibition was ending this afternoon so I wanted to see her display in situ. I have been following how she has been framing her work for display.

There were three artists invited to be showing in the Great Oak Hall. I thought the exhibition was wonderful and so colourful. I've known Liz for nearly forty years and when we arrived she greeted us with big hugs. She asked if I could take a few pictures to record the event and which she can use in future.

I had brought a long zoom for photographing the trees rather than interiors, so moved as far away as possible to get a sense of the space. Liz liked this picture of her, which was the very first I took, so I thought I would use it as a blip.

I have featured her work before  but I have no compunction in adding her her website address here.

The trees looked pretty good too. We only had a short time as Helena had to get back to work in the afternoon so headed straight for the Acer glades. Being back at Westonbirt made us seriously consider taking annual membership again as it is such a wonderful resource to have quite close to home. I hope to add a few of the beautiful views of leaves and trees to a Flickr gallery and will post it later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.