The spring, Dursley church and The Broadwell

I went for my first appointment with Kate, my new dentist, today and I was very impressed with her skills and pleased with the way it turned out. I don't need to have much work done. Yay.

The location of the dentist is in Dursley, an old market town a few miles from Stroud, set on the edge of the Cotswold escarpment. Getting there will take a bit of time, but I thought it will give me potential for adventures around that area, including trips to Slimbridge which is close by. 

After my first check-up I walked just a matter of a few yards to a very good camera shop where I was able to ogle at all the gear I'd get if money was no object. They were very helpful.

I then went to find an old and possibly sacred well I'd heard about close to the town centre. It was only a couple of hundred yards away and I discovered that the pond associated with the well, called Broadwell, was actually fed by a spring a few yards away. The white building in my picture is called The Broadwell, and are actually several late medieval buildings. You can see the water abutting the whitewalls, but it is actually flowing from left to right and goes down the hill to join the main stream in the valley.

I looked for the source and it seems to be a spring against the other white wall closer to the church where a railing can be seen. There the water is still and seems to be supplying the quite regular flow down to the Broadwell pond and beyond. I will have to research further, but it would appear that there was a nunnery in the main white building whose gable end is adjacent to the pond. This became a tavern in the 17th and 18th centuries, and is now a private home. The wall facing the spring has wonderful old windows and door frames which I may well feature another time when the light is better.

The church is set on a small mound and it seems to be a classic scene of religious buildings built close to sacred water sources. I shall reveal more later if I can find out any further details. Now I have to go to cook supper ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.