Andrew coming to pick us up

While staying with Judy I met her near neighbour Andrew who has another house on the bank of the river about a hundred yards upstream. He is an extremely talented carpenter and builder who bought a large wooden riverside house, completely rebuilt it and then built another house in his grounds as a guest house. At some point he managed to buy this wonderful tender to a much larger motor boat, which was built in the 1930s, and he has completely rebuilt it, impeccably as you can see. His home looks equally splendid.

Andrew passed by me heading downstream as I stood taking photos of kingfishers from the garden at the  back of Judy's house. A short while later he returned and turning round to berth beside me he asked Judy and I if we wanted to go for a trip up to Barton Broad. How could we refuse.

It was only about three hundred yards to the Broad, a large expanse of open water where there were quite a few yachts sailing on the stiff breeze. The sun warmed us as we ventured into and around the Broad which took me back to my holidays on the Norfolk Broads as a pre-teen kid way back when. 

I've had a wonderful stay with Judy and met old friends and new. After the boat trip I had to gather my belongings and then drive about fifty miles south into Suffolk to meet another good friend, Nick. But I hope to be back here with Helena before too long, probably next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.