A 'Sausage Festival' feast with Nick's family

I came to  Suffolk to stay with Nick yesterday, and was delighted to join him, his three sisters and two of his three brothers, and two of their children at a family meal. Tim was unfortunately not around that day. There was a local 'Sausage Festival' in Framlingham that day, so our hosts Richard and his wife Georgie opened their home for us all to feast on amazing bangers and mash, and wine, and cheese, and so much more ...... 

I hadn't seen Penny, Becky, Jane, John and Richard for a very long time, nor various spouses such as Peter and Serena, or their great friend Amanda. Nick's sisters and Amanda were early cheerleaders for our frisbee team, the Ally Pally Tossers, back in the late 1970s and talking about those days made us all laugh.

We found out some years after I first met Nick, that one of my grandfathers, who was a solicitor, acted as the theatrical agent for all the sisters' and brothers' grandparents on their father's side, back in the 1930s. How unlikely is that? We are all obviously connected.

Earlier I'd noticed family group photos at Nick's house, some of them including their sadly departed parents, so I suggested taking a picture of everyone together again. Georgie kindly found a tripod somewhere in their big house and Serena encouraged helped me get organised. Somehow everyone quickly gathered around the table where we'd eaten our meal in the conservatory and there was still some ambient light through the glass ceiling, but it was getting late on a rainy day. I only took two pictures and managed to run into the scene as well. I've now got a great memento of friends and I'll print copies to send to everyone. Many thanks to Richard and Georgie for being such generous hosts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.