Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Townbrook Valley and Hazler Hill

Location: The Burway, Long Mynd, Shropshire

I took myself off to Shropshire for a walk today.  I'd woken up early enough to reach the Long Mynd before sunrise so combined the walk with some early morning photography.  I've got way too many images to process so grabbed this one to post first.  It shows Townbrook Valley, next to the more famous Cardingmill Valley, with Church Stretton in the valley and hazler Hill with the mast in the distance.  I liked the lighting on the valley sides.

Then it was off on what turned to to be a 12 mile hike firstly heading north to the far end of The Lawley, then a ridge walk over the aforementioned hill and Caer Caradoc.  Neither are monsters but they proved taxing, especially as my knees don't have the spring they used to in the past.  I got the typical pain in my right knee each time I started the steep descents.  It's the farthest I've walked in one day in probably three years, but the sense of satisfaction I got on completion is worth the aches and pains I have on returning home.

It was truly a wonderful day, warm, although the wind was keen on the hills, with beautiful skies and patchwork lighting on the fields and hills surrounding the area.  The view from Caer Caradoc was breathtaking with several hills in view.  I'm sure you could spend a week here and not reach all of the summits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.