Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: J is for Japan

Tonight's meal is a very messy and yet melodical Okonomiyaki, followed by Dorayaki for dessert.

Okonomiyaki is such a great fast food, isn't it? I loved the Okonomiyaki restaurants in Japan. I've heard it described as a sort of omelette pizza but it's really difficult to give it an accurate description. I tried to find as many authentic ingredients as I could at my local asian supermarket but I had to fudge the okonomiyaki flour (instead using plain flour mixed with a little sweet potato flour) and the okonomiyaki sauce (I used yakitori sauce). I don't really think my okonomiyaki did the dish any justice but it was still fun and quick to make.

The dorayaki (red bean pancakes) in contrast came out really well. The recipe is really simple and the only thing I struggled with was getting my pancakes to come out a pale yellow-brown colour and getting them the right shape. In the end I cut them with a cookie cutter to shape them uniformly. The pancakes on their own are very sweet but once the red bean paste is sandwiched between them, it tempers the sweetness with the gorgeous texture and taste of the red beans. (I love red bean desserts - definitely in my top ten of dessert things).

Tomorrow's challenge is K and we'll be eating some simple Kenyan fare for tea. Can't wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.